When I’m not in lectures…

Well hello fellow readers. I hope you’re all well, and for those who have just started with us I hope you are enjoying your time here at Newman!

Remember in my last blog when I wrote ‘You might think that something is bad for you, when in fact it could actually be good, like a blessing in disguise’ well I really am starting to see that now. Recently I have been getting involved in more and more events. Just yesterday from 9.20 till 1.20 I was at the Barber Institute of Fine Arts working with primary school children (year 6) celebrating black history month in art and science. I really enjoyed my time there; we also travelled to the Danford collection and looked at African artefacts, before leaving to the Lapworth Museum to look at old fossils, some over a million years old! I was surprised to see how such little objects could tell us so much about the past! However I also learnt that working with primary school children is not as easy at it looks!

The map the children helped make

The map the children helped make

pic

At the Lapworth Museum

Over 400 Million years old!

Over 400 Million years old!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then after 1.20 I had just 10 minutes to head to the University of Birmingham for the ‘book to the future’ event as I was also volunteering there. Sir Tony Robinson, actor, comedian, historian and author was giving a talk about ‘the weird world of wonders’ which was followed by a book signing. I had the great pleasure of meeting him! As a volunteer for this event I was also assigned manager and therefore had a number of roles to fulfil, including giving a  welcome speech to the guest, speakers and various schools who have also come to visit. I’ve actually come to love speaking in front of large audiences. Even if I do get nervous I like that adrenaline feeling! Makes me feel energetic and full of life! (I know I’m weird!)

Tony_Robinson_

Tomorrow I am at the Barber Institute again where I will be helping out in a special Sunday crafts session; we will be looking at tropical garlands with African and Asian birds and insects, everyone is welcome to attend! (I’ll try to post pictures if I can). Other things I am doing over the next couple of weeks/months include attempting to help break the world record of ‘most people balancing books on their head’ (cool right!), helping out in another event where we will be looking at ‘the wry Romance of the Literary Theory’, working with year 1 children looking at portraits and paintings, and volunteering at ‘Resurrecting the Book Conference’ held in the library of Birmingham. Recently I’ve also taken up German classes, which is…quite difficult actually, but also rather enjoyable (these by the way take place on Tuesdays from 11.30-12.40 in DA 127, and Wednesdays 13.50-15.00 in DA 117…you are welcome to join any of these classes.) The language café will also start taking place from Thursday 7th November in the Bar.

I don’t know how I would have got involved in any of these things without the help from Newman University!

Doing all these extra things is great, however you need to remember to prioritise. It’s good to get involved and volunteer/ work; but you must ensure that this does not interfere with your studies. Whatever you do, you need to leave plenty of time to get your university work done…which I know could be difficult. However what I find helps me is to make a plan- for me I write a plan which includes what I need to do and when I need to do it by. That way I know exactly where I need to be. It’s strict in that if I don’t do what I am supposed to do for that day it means I have to do extra the next day. And if I find that I’m constantly not following it or I’m seriously behind then I know I need to change something that I am doing. I like plans as sometime I find that I think too much…way too much in fact! (Conscience really does make cowards of us all!) So putting it on paper allows me to stop thinking about it and just get on with it.

plan

Finally I just want to mention that there’s an open day on Friday the 8th of November from 4PM to 8pm. So if you are reading this and not at university yet do try to attend and don’t forget to invite others and let them know.

open day

For more information on the open day click here.

I also want to congratulate those who have just graduated! Hopefully all your hard work has paid off. I wish you a successful, bright and happy future. Now go and make all your dreams come true! 😀

Do let me know if you having any concerns, worries or any question. You can comment below, or post on the ‘Newman Newbies’ face book page.

Thank you all for reading.

Tahne

Leave a comment

Filed under University

Leave a comment