Avoiding Procrastination!

Because I exceeded the word limit in my previous blog, I didn’t have space to talk about the academic side of things, so that’s what I’m going to be doing in this blog.

First of all, as you probably all realise, there’s less than two months left before this academic year ends! It is this time of year where a lot of coursework/presentations need to be handed in and exams are fast approaching! Perhaps the most stressful part of the year!

OK hopefully not this bad!

OK hopefully not this bad!

As I mentioned in a previous blog link  I have 7 assignments to give in this semester, already getting one out the way, I now have 6 left. 3 in April and 3 in May. The first being due next week, in ‘Early Modern Literature!’

Having that calendar on my wall with all those deadlines is a terrible sight! However as scary as it is to look at, it is helping me to work…

…saying that, those who know me know that I still procrastinate a lot!

I realise that a lot of people are the same. Though we all have the desire and motivation to succeed and get things done, actually putting all the effort in takes a lot of work!

procrastinate work

Therefore I have put together a list of some of the ways that could help us avoid procrastination:

  1. Make a list: You know I love to make lists – I’m making one right now! Making a List of things you need to do is great because you can tick it of once you’ve finished a task and feel a great sense of accomplishment! Ready to start the next one! I also strongly recommend that you give yourself a timeframe for when each task needs to be completed – make sure it’s well before the deadline. It also helps to reward yourself once you completed the task (spend about 30 minutes or so doing something you want).
  1. Start! : A lot of people, like me, spend a lot of time thinking about how they will complete something in time. In fact they think about this so much, that they could have completed the task in the time they were thinking about it! (Or a large proportion of it anyway!) Therefore just focus on starting, and then once you have started you will find that actually you could get this done and do your best at it. Also don’t wait for a ‘perfect’ time to start! This will never come! Just start NOW.
  1. Prioritise but don’t neglect: Work on all your assignment (or whatever it is you need to do) but prioritise those that are due in first without neglecting the others.  If you just think about your next assignment that’s due, you might find that you’re short on time when it comes to starting the rest.
  1. Change work place: if you cannot work at home, work in the library or somewhere different. If you cannot work alone, work with others. You don’t have to be working on the same thing, just motivate each other to work.
  1. Think about summer holidays: Finally if you really want to enjoy your holidays, you would have to put in all the work and effort now. Just two more months of hard work left (or less) and you could enjoy double that amount of time having fun!! (Especially as you would get your results 3 weeks ,or less, after submission date)

 

Everyone is different, so you have to figure out which way works for you.  However you study, if it works then its good. This is a start of a brand new week, so let’s start it well by getting our work done and preparing ourselves for all our deadlines.  Don’t you want to enjoy your summer holidays?

Less than 2 months to go!

Less than 2 months to go!

Good luck! And until next time!

Tahne

5 Comments

Filed under University

5 responses to “Avoiding Procrastination!

  1. Great list! One thing I’d recommend adding is using the 2 minute rule. It means that when you don’t want to work on a task, simply say that you’ll work for 2 minutes on it. If you want to stop after that, you can. However the chances are that you won’t

    • That’s a great idea! I know that will definitely help me (and others) because I hate starting, but once I’ve started I’m fine! Thanks for your comment, and for reading my blog 🙂

  2. Pingback: So I made the bus driver cry | TAHNE AT NEWMAN

  3. http://darknesslight1.blogspot.co.uk

    I have my finals coming up so what with that, my life-modelling and my athletics I am busy, busy, busy! You make some very valid point.
    I have just updated my own blog so why not have a look?
    http://darknesslight1.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a comment